

The Cape Fear Rural Transportation Planning Organization exists to serve as the intergovernmental organization for local elected officials, the North Carolina Department of Transportation, and residents of Brunswick, Columbus, and Pender Counties to work cooperatively to address transportation issues.

# Rural Transportation Coordinating Committee (RTCC) Meeting Minutes March 27, 2024 • 10:30 AM Held virtually via Zoom

## **Voting Members Present**

Helen Bunch, Brunswick County Mo Meehan, Southport Robert Lewis, Whiteville Adam Moran, Pender County Amy Kimes, Surf City Doug Shipley, Topsail Beach Michelle Howes, NCDOT Division 3 Lee Jurnigan, NCDOT Division 6

## **Others Present**

Jessica Gray, Burgaw Beth King, WMPO Kirsten Spirakis, NCDOT Div. 3, District 1 Nazia Sarder, NCDOT TPD Jim Rupkalvis, MOTSU Vanessa Lacer, WMPO Yvonne Hatcher, Brunswick County Transit Joy Jacobs, Columbus County Transit Tricell Merrit, PAS-TRAN Stephanie Ayers, NC Ports Sam Boswell, Cape Fear RPO

Ken Clark, NCDOT Div. 6, District 3 Bill Hammond, NCDOT Division 6 Kim Nguyen, NCDOT IMD

## I. INTRODUCTORY BUSINESS

- 1. <u>Call to Order</u> The meeting was held via video conference on Zoom. Having reached a quorum, Sam Boswell called the meeting to order at 10:30 AM.
- 2. <u>Roll Call</u> A roll call was taken of attendees.
- **3.** <u>Additions or Corrections to the Agenda</u> Item 6 on the agenda was changed from "Vacancies and Appointments" to "NC Ports Resolution". *Sam Boswell made a motion to approve the agenda with the change to Item 6. Vanessa Lacer seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.*

Helen Bunch, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes
Robert Lewis, Yes
Adam Moran, Yes
Amy Kimes, Yes

Michelle Howes, Yes Lee Jurnigan, Yes Nazia Sarder, Yes Vanessa Lacer, Yes Yvonne Hatcher, Yes Joy Jacobs, Yes Stephanie Ayers, Yes Sam Boswell, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

**4.** <u>Approval of Minutes</u> – The minutes of the February 7, 2024, RTCC meeting were presented. *Nazia Sarder made a motion to approve the minutes. Mo Meehan seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.* 

Helen Bunch, Yes	Michelle Howes, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes	Lee Jurnigan, Yes
Robert Lewis, Yes	Nazia Sarder, Yes
Adam Moran, Yes	Vanessa Lacer, Yes
Amy Kimes, Yes	Yvonne Hatcher, Yes

Joy Jacobs, Yes Stephanie Ayers, Yes Sam Boswell, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

5. <u>Public Comment</u> – There were no comments from the public.

### **II. PRESENTATIONS**

There were no scheduled presentations for this meeting.

### **III. REGULAR BUSINESS**

6. <u>Resolution of Support: NC Ports Grant Application</u> – NC Ports has requested a Resolution of Support from the Cape Fear RPO for an application to the US EPA's Clean Ports Program to fund zero emissions equipment at the Port of Wilmington. *Adam Moran made a motion to recommend approval of the resolution to the RTAC, and Vanessa Lacer seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.* 

Helen Bunch, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes
Robert Lewis, Yes
Adam Moran, Yes
Amy Kimes, Yes

Michelle Howes, Yes Lee Jurnigan, Yes Nazia Sarder, Yes Jim Rupkalvis, Yes Vanessa Lacer, Yes Yvonne Hatcher, Yes Joy Jacobs, Yes Tricell Merrit, Yes Stephanie Ayers, Yes Sam Boswell, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

7. <u>CFRPO P7.0 Local Input Point Methodology</u> – The Cape Fear RPO is required by state law to develop a local input methodology for prioritizing all transportation projects within the RPO boundary that compete for state and federal funding and submit that methodology to NCDOT for approval. RPO Staff provided a presentation to the committee reviewing the methodology and the P7.0 schedule moving forward. *Helen Bunch made a motion to recommend approval of the methodology to the RTAC, and Robert Lewis seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.* 

Helen Bunch, Yes	Adam Moran, Yes	Lee Jurnigan, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes	Amy Kimes, Yes	Nazia Sarder, Yes
Robert Lewis, Yes	Michelle Howes, Yes	Jim Rupkalvis, Yes

Vanessa Lacer, Yes Yvonne Hatcher, Yes Joy Jacobs, Yes Tricell Merrit, Yes Stephanie Ayers, Yes Sam Boswell, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

8. <u>CFRPO FY24-25 Planning Work Program</u> – RPO Staff presented the Planning Work Program to the committee for the upcoming year. This PWP must be adopted and submitted to NCDOT for approval by May 31. *Stephanie Ayers made a motion to recommend approval of the FY24-25 PWP to the RTAC, and Mo Meehan seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.* 

Helen Bunch, Yes	Michelle Howes, Yes	Joy Jacobs, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes	Lee Jurnigan, Yes	Tricell Merrit, Yes
Robert Lewis, Yes	Nazia Sarder, Yes	Stephanie Ayers, Yes
Adam Moran, Yes	Jim Rupkalvis, Yes	Sam Boswell, Yes
Amy Kimes, Yes	Vanessa Lacer, Yes	
Doug Shipley, Yes	Yvonne Hatcher, Yes	

The motion passed unanimously.

**9.** <u>NCDOT IMD Multimodal Planning Grant Applications</u> – The Cape Fear RPO has been asked by both the Town of Oak Island and the City of Southport to submit resolutions of support for their applications to NCDOT's Multimodal Planning Grant Program. The Town of Oak Island is pursuing an update to their Bicycle Transportation Plan (adopted in 2006) and the City of Southport is pursuing a Project Acceleration Plan to accompany their Comprehensive Pedestrian Transportation Plan (adopted in 2014). *Vanessa Lacer made a motion to recommend approval of both resolutions to the RTAC, and Yvonne Hatcher seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.* 

Helen Bunch, Yes	Michelle Howes, Yes	Joy Jacobs, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes	Lee Jurnigan, Yes	Tricell Merrit, Yes
Robert Lewis, Yes	Nazia Sarder, Yes	Stephanie Ayers, Yes
Adam Moran, Yes	Jim Rupkalvis, Yes	Sam Boswell, Yes
Amy Kimes, Yes	Vanessa Lacer, Yes	
Doug Shipley, Yes	Yvonne Hatcher, Yes	

The motion passed unanimously.

**10.** <u>2024 RTCC Meeting Schedule</u> – During its last meeting, the RTAC changed its December meeting to November to align with the adjusted P7.0 schedule. *Sam Boswell made a motion that the RTCC meeting scheduled for December 4, 2024 be moved to November 6, 2024. Helen Bunch seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.* 

Helen Bunch, Yes	Robert Lewis, Yes	Amy Kimes, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes	Adam Moran, Yes	Doug Shipley, Yes

Michelle Howes, Yes Lee Jurnigan, Yes Nazia Sarder, Yes Jim Rupkalvis, Yes Vanessa Lacer, Yes Yvonne Hatcher, Yes Joy Jacobs, Yes Tricell Merrit, Yes Stephanie Ayers, Yes Sam Boswell, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

### **IV. REPORTS/UPDATES**

## 11. Reports/Updates

- Cape Fear RPO: Staff provided updates on the 2024-2033 STIP.
- NC Ports: There were no additional updates from the Ports.
- Ferry Division: There were no updates from the Ferry Division.
- NCDOT Division 3 (Brunswick & Pender): Michelle Howes gave Division 3 updates.
- NCDOT Division 6 (Columbus): Bill Hammond gave Division 6 updates.
- NCDOT Transportation Planning Division (TPD): Nazia Sarder gave updates on the Brunswick, Columbus, and Pender County CTPs.
- NCDOT Integrated Mobility Division (IMD): Kim Nguyen provided IMD updates.
- Wilmington Area MPO (WMPO): Vanessa Lacer provided WMPO updates.
- Grand Strand MPO (GSATS): There were no updates from GSATS.

## **IV. OTHER**

12. Open discussion – There was no additional discussion.

13. Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 11:27 AM.