

1480 Harbour Drive Wilmington, NC 28401-7776

GENERAL MEMBERSHIP ANNUAL MEETING

Thursday, March 31, 2022 • 6:30 P.M.

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order and Welcome
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Invocation and Pledge
- 4. Approval of Agenda ***
- 5. Approval Minutes (see attachment) ***
 - a. February 25, 2021
- 6. Election of Officers and At-Large Executive Committee members (see attachment) ***
- 7. Public Officials Directory & Annual Report presentation
- 8. Delegate Comments & Open Discussion
- 9. Adjourn

Next Meeting: Regular Scheduled Executive Committee meeting Monday, May 9, 2022 at 11:00 A M

Items marked with *** are actionable items that require a vote.



Cape Fear Council of Governments ANNUAL GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

February 25, 2021 • 6:30PM MINUTES

Delegates Present:

0		
*Deborah Ahlers, Caswell Beach	*Kathy Ashley, Fair Bluff	*Teresa Batts, Surf City
*Brenda Bozeman, Leland	*Bill Brennan, Carolina Shores	*Walt Eccard, Shallotte
*Mike Forte, Brunswick County	*William E. George, Burgaw	*Lamonte Grate, Tabor City
*Sheila Grady, Northwest	*John Gunter, Topsail Beach	*Tom Guzulaitis, Boiling Spring Lakes
*Joseph P. Hatem, Southport	*Daniel Hilburn, Lake Waccamaw	
*Emily Hill, Bald Head Island	*Colene Kelly, Chadbourn	*Donna P. Long, Calabash
*Terry Mann, Whiteville	*Glenn Marshall, Sandy Creek	*Ella Jane Marston, Bolivia
*Shawn Maynor, Bolton	*Ryan Merrill, Belville	*Elton Newkirk, Atkinson
*Zeke Partin, Wrightsville Beach	*Shannon Phillips, Sunset Beach	*LeAnn Pierce, Carolina Beach
*Charlie Rivenbark, Wilmington	*R. Wayne Rowell, Ocean Isle Beach	
*Jean Toner, St. James	*Brent Watts, Columbus County	*Jason Wells, Wallace
Delegates Absent:		
the desired and the second		dea

•					
*Robert M. Barnhill, St. Helena	*George Brown, Pender County	*Needham C. Hall, Watha			
*Nancy L. Hill, Brunswick	*J. Alan Holden, Holden Beach	*Garry Keaton, Sandyfield			
*William Kirby, Varnamtown	*Allen Oliver, Kure Beach				
*Julia Olson-Boseman, New Hanov	er County	*David Prince, Cerro Gordo			
*Randy P. Williamson, Boardman	*Eulis Willis, Navassa	*Jeff Winecoff, Oak Island			

CFCOG Staff Present:

Allen Serkin	*Ginger Brick	Patrick Flanagan	*Wes MacLeod
*Holly Pilson	April Radford	*Dawn Tucker	*Maegan Zielinski

Other Guests:

*J. Martin Cooke, Brunswick County	*Clarice Faison, Fair Bluff	*Noel Fox, Attorney
*Mandy Sanders, Kure Beach	*Athina Williams, Belville	

This meeting was a remote meeting held during a declared emergency pursuant to N.C.G.S. §166A-19.24. Members and others who participated by simultaneous communication are indicated with an asterisk (*).

1. Call to Order and Welcome:

Mr. Forte called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone at 6:35PM.

Mr. Serkin did roll call and confirmed quorum.

2. Invocation and Pledge:

Mr. Forte gave the invocation and the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Approval of Agenda:

Mr. Forte asked if there were any amendments to the agenda. There being none, the agenda was accepted as presented.

4. Approval of February 27, 2020 Minutes:

Mr. Forte asked if there were amendments to the February 27, 2020 minutes. There being none, the minutes were accepted as presented.

5. Election of Officers and At-Large Executive Committee members:

Mr. Serkin presented the nominating committee's slate of officers and at-large Executive Committee members.

Officers:

- Chair: Mike Forte, Brunswick County
- Vice-Chair: George Brown, Jr., Pender County
- Secretary-Treasurer, Charlie Rivenbark, Wilmington

Members At-Large:

- Teresa Batts, Surf City
- Jan Dawson, Burgaw
- Walt Eccard, Shallotte
- Lamont Grate, Tabor City

Mr. Forte asked for any additional nominees from the floor. There being none, a motion was made by Mr. Hilburn, seconded by Ms. Ahlers, to elect the officers and at-large Executive Committee members as nominated by the nominating committee. The motion carried unanimously by roll call vote. Ayes: Mike Forte, Emily Hill, Ryan Merrill, Tom Guzulaitis, Ella Jane Marston, Donna Long, Bill Brennan, Deborah Ahlers, Brenda Bozeman, Shelia Grady, R. Wayne Rowell, Jean Toner, Glenn Marshall, Walt Eccard, Joseph Hatem, Shannon Phillips, Brent Watts, Shawn Maynor, Colene Kelly, Kathy Ashley, Daniel Hillburn, Lamont Grate, Terry Mann, LeAnn Pierce, Charlie Rivenbark, Zeke Partin, Elton Newkirk, William George, III, Teresa Batts, John Gunter, and Jason Wells. Nays: None. Absent: Robert M. Barnhill, George Brown, Needham C. Hall, Nancy L. Hill, J. Alan Holden, Garry Keaton, William Kirby, Allen Oliver, Julia Olson-Boseman, David Prince, Randy P. Williamson, Eulis Willis, and Jeff Winecoff.

6. Public Officials Directory and Annual Report presentation:

- Mr. Serkin presented the CFCOG 2021 Public Officials Directory. There were no comments.
- Ms. Pilson presented the Area Agency on Aging annual report. There were no comments.
- Ms. Zielinski presented the Continuum of Care annual report. There were no comments.
- Mr. MacLeod presented the Local Governments Services annual report. There were no comments.
- Ms. Brick presented the Workforce Development annual report. There were no comments.
- Ms. Tucker presented the annual finance report. There were no comments.

7. Delegate Comments and Open Discussion:

Mr. Forte thanked the CFCOG staff for their presentation and all their hard work. There were no further comments.

8. Adjourn:

Α	mo	tion	by I	Mr.	Brennan,	second	by	Mr.	. Riven	bark	to	ad	journ	mee	tıng	at	/:(96	PΝ	Λ.
---	----	------	------	-----	----------	--------	----	-----	---------	------	----	----	-------	-----	------	----	-----	----	----	----

Respectfully submitted,		
April D. Radford, Clerk to the Board	Mike Forte, Chairman	



Serving Local Government in:

Brunswick County

Bald Head Island Belville **Boiling Spring Lakes** Bolivia Calabash Carolina Shores Caswell Beach Holden Beach Leland Navassa Northwest Oak Island Ocean Isle Beach Sandy Creek Shallotte Southport

Columbus County

St. James Sunset Beach

Bolton
Brunswick
Cerro Gordo
Chadbourn
Fair Bluff
Lake Waccamaw
Sandyfield
Tabor City
Whiteville

New Hanover County

Carolina Beach Kure Beach Wilmington Wrightsville Beach

Pender County

Atkinson Burgaw Surf City Topsail Beach Wallace

Executive Committee Nominees

Mike Forte	Brunswick Co.
Brent Watts	Columbus Co.
Julia Olson-Boseman	New Hanover Co.
George Brown	Pender Co.
Brenda Bozeman	Brunswick Co. Municipal (Leland)
Lamont Grate	Columbus Co. Municipal (Tabor City)
Charlie Rivenbark	New Hanover Co. Municipal (Wilmington)
Jan Dawson	Pender Co. Municipal (Burgaw)
Teresa Batts	Municipal At-Large (Surf City)

Officer Nominees

Chair	Mike Forte
Vice Chair	George Brown
Secretary-Treasurer	Charlie Rivenbark

