

### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING**

December 9, 2019 • 11:00 AM

MINUTES

<b>Members Present:</b> Teresa Batts Jan Dawson	George Brown, Jr. Charlie Rivenbark	Trent Burroughs	Walt Eccard	Mike Forte
<b>Members Absent:</b> Jonathan Barfield, Jr.	Lamont Grate			
<b>CFCOG Staff Present:</b> Ginger Brick April Radford	Amy Doss Allen Serkin	Patrick Flanagan Dawn Tucker	Wes MacLeod	Holly Pilson
Guest:				

Jim Kornagay

### Call to Order, Welcome, Invocation, Introductions & Pledge:

Mr. Burroughs, called the meeting to order & welcomed everyone at 11:02AM. Mr. Rivenbark gave the invocation and Mr. Forte led the Pledge of Allegiance.

### Approval of October 14, 2019 Minutes:

There was no discussion. Mr. Forte moved to approve the October 14, 2019 minutes, and Mr. Eccard seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

#### **Finance Committee Report:**

Ms. Tucker informed the board that the auditors will present the audit report at the next Executive Committee Meeting and that there was no budget adjustment. Ms. Tucker addressed questions from the board about the audit.

Ms. Tucker presented the Finance Report through October 31, 2019. There were no questions from the Executive Committee. Mr. Forte moved to approve the Finance Report, and Mr. Brown seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

#### **Director's Reports:**

Mr. Burroughs turned the floor over to Mr. Serkin. Mr. Serkin introduced new staff; Ms. Amy Doss, Planner (part-time) and Mr. Patrick Flanagan, Regional Planner and Cape Fear RPO Director.

Mr. Serkin presented amendments for the CFCOG bylaws. Discussion ensued. A motion was made by Mr. Eccard to accept the amendments to present to the General Membership at the Annual Meeting in February for approval, seconded by Mr. Brown. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Serkin presented proposed 2020 Executive Committee Meeting schedule. After discussion a motion was made my Mr. Forte to accept the 2020 schedule and seconded by Mr. Brown. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Serkin presented the current CFCOG Executive Committee roster and asked for nominations for reelection at the Annual Meeting. Mr. Forte moved to nominate Mr. Burroughs to remain the Chairman, seconded by Mr. Eccard. The motion carried unanimously. Mr. Rivenbark nominated Mr. Brown to remain the Vice-Chairman and seconded by Mr. Forte. The motion carried unanimously. Mr. Eccard nominated Mr. Rivenbark to remain the Secretary/Treasurer and seconded by Mr. Brown. The motion carried unanimously. Mr. Rivenbark motioned to nominate the existing Executive Committee Members and seconded by Ms. Dawson. The motion carried unanimously.



The Slate of Officers to be presented to the Board for approval at the Annual Meeting February 27, 2020 is as follows:

Commissioner Trent Burroughs – Chairman Chairman George Brown, Jr. – Vice-Chairman Council Member Charlie Rivenbark – Secretary/Treasurer Commissioner Mike Forte – Member Chair Julia Olson-Boseman – Member Councilwoman Teresa Batts – Member Commissioner Jan Dawson – Member Mayor Walt Eccard – Member Mayor Pro-Tem Lamont Grate - Member

Mr. Serkin requested the Executive Committee appoint a CFCOG board member to represent the CFCOG on the North Carolina Association of Regional Councils of Governments "Forum". After discussion among the members Ms. Batts volunteered. A motion was made by Mr. Eccard and seconded by Mr. Brown to appoint Ms. Batts represent the CFCOG on the Forum. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Serkin provided information and asked the Executive Committee for their input on the Annual Meeting. He stated there will be no charge for CFCOG General Membership representatives to attend the meeting. There was discussion about a possible guest speaker on the topic of 2020 Census. The board requested the meeting end no later than 8:30PM.

# **Department Report:**

Ms. Jones presented the Area Agency on Aging report. There were no questions from executive committee.

Mr. Serkin presented the Continuum of Care report on behalf of Ms. Zielinski. Mr. Serkin addressed questions from the executive committee.

Mr. MacLeod presented the Local Government Services report. Mr. MacLeod addressed questions from the executive committee.

Ms. Brick presented the Workforce Development report. Ms. Brick addressed questions from the executive committee.

## **Chairman's Comments:**

Mr. Burroughs thanks all and wish all a safe and happy holiday.

## **Executive Committee Members' Comments:**

There were no comments from the executive committee.

Mr. Serkin reminded the executive committee of the SOG Ethics Webinar being hosted at the CFCOG on Tuesday, December 10, 2019.

## Adjournment:

Mr. Burroughs motioned to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried unanimously. The meeting ended at 12:34PM.

Respectfully submitted,