

Cape Fear Council of Governments EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

Monday, May 13, 2019 • 11:00AM **MINUTES**

Members Present:

Trent Burroughs Charlie Rivenbark Jan Dawson Walt Eccard

Mike Forte Teresa Batts

Members Absent:

George Brown, Jr. Jonathan Barfield, Jr. Lamont Grate

CFCOG Staff Present:

Chris May Dawn Tucker April Radford Allen Serkin Maegan Zielinski

Jane Jones

Call to Order, Welcome, Invocation, Introductions & Pledge:

Mr. Trent Burroughs, called the meeting to order & welcomed everyone at 11:03AM. Mr. Charlie Rivenbark gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of January 14, 2019 Minutes:

There was no discussion. A motion was made by Ms. Jan Dawson to approve the January 14, 2019 Minutes and seconded by Mr. Mike Forte. The motion carried unanimously.

Approval of March 28, 2019 Minutes:

There was no discussion. A motion was made by Mr. Walt Eccard to approve the February 28, 2019 Minutes and seconded by Ms. Teresa Batts. The motion carried unanimously.

Finance Committee Report:

Mr. Trent Burroughs asked that all finance related items be presented and voted on in one action. Ms. Dawn Tucker presented Budget Adjustment through April 30, 2019, Finance Report, Draft FY 19/20 Budget, and Audit Contract 18-19. There was discussion and Ms. Dawn Tucker answered questions from the board. A motion was made by Mr. Walt Eccard to approve the Budget Adjustment through April 30, 2019, Finance Report, and Audit Contract 18-19 and seconded by Mr. Charlie Rivenbark. The motion carried unanimously.

Director's Reports:

Mr. Chris May reminded the board members of the upcoming required 2019 Ethics Training for newly elected, re-elected and appointed officials. Mr. Chris May recommended the board form a committee to review and update, if needed, the CFCOG Bylaws, Charter and Resolutions. Ms. Jan Dawson and Mr. Mike Forte volunteered to be on the committee.

Ms. Jane Jones presented the Area Agency on Aging report. There were no questions from the board.

Ms. Ginger Brick presented the Workforce Development report. There were no questions from the board.

Mr. Allen Serkin presented the Local Governments Services report. Mr. Allen Serkin will be updating the RPO Manager's job description. Mr. Allen Serkin informed the board of the upcoming 2020 Complete Count Census Training Workshop and relayed the importance of a complete and accurate count for each county. Discussion ensued. There were no questions from the board.

Ms. Maegan Zielinski presented the Continuum of Care report. After discussion, Ms. Maegan Zielinski addressed questions from the board.

Executive Committee Members' Comments:

A motion to go into Closed Session to discuss personnel business was made by Mr. Charlie Rivenbark and seconded by Ms. Jan Dawson. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion to end Closed Session was made by Mr. Charlie Rivenbark and seconded by Ms. Teresa Batts. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion to reopen Regular Session was made by Mr. Charlie Rivenbark and seconded by Ms. Jan Dawson. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Trent Burroughs directed Mr. Chris May to spell out terms of the proposed employment agreement for Mr. Allen Serkin as the new Executive Director. The Cape Fear Council of Governments Executive Board offered Mr. Allen Serkin the position of Executive Director effective August 1, 2019. Mr. Allen Serkin will be subject to the provisions of the Cape Fear Council of Governments Personnel Policy protections and requirements with the exception that he will accrue vacation leave at the rate of a 15 year employee. Mr. Charlie Rivenbark then moved to appoint Mr. Allen Serkin as the in-coming Executive Director effective August 1, 2019 subject to the above stated terms and seconded by Ms. Teresa Batts. The motion carried unanimously.

Next Meeting:

Monday, June 10, 2019 Budget FY19/20 Public Hearing 11:00AM in Large Conference Room at Cape Fear Council of Governments.

Adjournment:

Mr. Charlie Rivenbark motioned to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried unanimously. The meeting ended at 1:40PM.

Respectfully submitted,	
April D. Radford, Clerk to the Board	Trent Burroughs, Chairman