Cape Fear RPO

Rural Transportation Coordinating Committee February 6th, 2019 Meeting Minutes

Voting Members Present

Stephanie Ayers, NC Ports
Samantha Alsup, Columbus County
Helen Bunch, Brunswick County
Gary Brown, St. James
Mike Dickson, Surf City
Gordon Hargrove, Lake Waccamaw
Yvonne Hatcher, Brunswick Transit
Travis Henley, Pender County
Joy Jacobs, Columbus Transportation
Robert Lewis, Whiteville

Thomas Lloyd, Southport
Jim Longenbach, Pender Transportation
Caitlyn Marks, NCDOT Division 3
Katie Moore, WMPO
Beshad Norowszi, NCDOT TPB
Mike Rose, Topsail Beach
Allen Serkin, Cape Fear RPO
Darius Sturdivant, NCDOT Division 6
Jake Vares, Oak Island

Others Present

John Bauer, Chadbourn Justin Brantley, Cape Fear COG Billy Christ, Congressman Rouzer Bill Hammond, NCDOT Division 6 Gage King, Henderson Field Chad Staradumsky, Burgaw

- 1. **Introduction and quorum** Having reached a quorum, Mr. Serkin called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM. The attendees introduced themselves.
- 2. **Changes or additions to the agenda** No changes were made to the agenda.
- 3. **Municipal appointments** Mr. Serkin explained the municipal representation process. Mr. Repp was re-elected to the Brunswick Municipal 2 seat. Mr. Brown was re-elected to the Brunswick Municipal Alternate 2 seat. Mr. Hargrove was elected to the Columbus Municipal 2 seat. Mr. Bauer was elected to the Columbus Municipal Alternate seat. Mr. Rademacher was elected to the Pender Municipal 2 seat. Mr. Dickson was elected to the Pender Municipal Alternate seat. Mr. Serkin noted that all of the RTCC member seats have been filled.
- 4. **Approval of the minutes** There were no changes to the minutes. *Ms. Bunch made a motion to approve the minutes. Mr. Rose seconded the motion. The motion carried.*
- 5. **Public Comment** There was no comment from the public.
- 6. **Presentation: Title VI** Mr. Brantley facilitated the Annual Title VI Nondiscrimination Training to the RTCC Members. Mr. Brantley explained the Title VI Nondiscrimination Program and its requirements. Mr. Brantley provided a Title VI update for the Cape Fear

RPO and noted that the Title VI Plan has been adopted by the RTAC and approved by the NCDOT.

- 7. **Prioritization 5.0 Results/Draft STIP** Mr. Serkin briefly explained the prioritization process and then reviewed the results of Prioritization 5.0 and the Draft 2020-2029 STIP. *No action was taken.*
- 8. **Draft FY 2019-2020 Planning Work Program** Mr. Serkin presented the draft FY 2019-2020 PWP and explained changes in the budget. Mr. Rose asked where the local match comes from. Mr. Serkin stated that the local match comes from the counties. *Mr. Henley made a motion to recommend approval of the Draft PWP, Ms. Bunch seconded the motion. The motion carried.*
- 9. **Resolution Supporting NCSPA's BUILD and INFRA Grant Applications** Mr. Serkin explained that the NC State Ports Authority has requested a resolution in support for their applications for FY 2019 BUILD and INFRA grant funds. Ms. Ayers stated that the application is to request funding to improve access to the Port of Wilmington. *Mr. Longenbach made a motion to approve the resolution of support. Mr. Rose seconded the motion. The motion carried.*
- 10. **Reports/Updates** Mr. Serkin provided an update for the CFRPO and went over the schedule for Prioritization 6.0. Mr. Serkin stated that the Topsail Beach Non-motorized Transportation Plan has been completed. Mr. Serkin reminded the committee members about the March 1st deadline for the Watch For Me NC program. Mr. Serkin stated that he has submitted the newly completed Topsail Island Bridge for a NCDOT Mobi Award. Ms. Marks provided an update for Division 3. Mr. Sturdivant provided an update for Division 6. Mr. Norowzi gave an update for the Transportation Planning Branch and discussed the Columbus CTP, Brunswick CTP, as well as the Pender CTP. Ms. Moore gave an update for the WMPO and noted that the 30th Annual River to Sea Bike Ride will take place on May 4th. There were no updates from the Grand Strand MPO.
- 11. **Adjournment** There being no further discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 11:18 AM.

Minutes prepared by Justin Brantley on February 7th, 2019 and approved by the RTCC on May 1, 2019.